Skip to main content

Computational Science

Until recent times, theoretical mathematical analysis has been the only method for reliably investigating mathematical models. In the early 1960s, the use of computer simulations began to enter the realm of scientific investigation, as exemplified by the pioneering work of Ed Lorenz in the study of meteorological phenomena, which led to the birth of what has come to be called Chaos Theory.

The widespread access to increasingly powerful computers, and the development of new computational algorithms has stimulated the growth of the emerging field of Computational Science, which is a new methodology for carrying out scientific investigation that is complementary to the traditional approaches of theory and experiment. Computational Science combines the implementation of mathematical models, computer algorithms, and knowledge in a particular area of application. It both provides an additional tool for the study of phenomena, and facilitates the study of problems that are intractable or difficult to study using conventional approaches.

  • The research of Dhavide Aruliah, PhD, concerns the development, implementation and analysis of efficient algorithms for scientific computation. His research entails both approximate numerical and exact symbolic algorithms, as appropriate, for obtaining meaningful solutions of scientific problems.
  • The research of William R. Smith, PhD, in computational materials science involves the molecular-level modelling of fluids, with the aim of predicting their bulk properties; such information is used in the design and control of many chemical processes. Ongoing projects involve the design of environmentally benign refrigerants and the development of theoretical and computational tools to accurately predict chemical speciation in aquatic systems.

Other University of Ontario Institute of Technology faculty members involved in Computational Science include:

  • Anatoli Chkrebtii, PhD (Physics)
  • Fedor Naumkin, PhD (Chemistry)
  • Eleodor Nichita, PhD (Energy Systems and Nuclear Science)
  • Isaac Tamblyn, PhD (Physics)
  • Ed Waller, PhD (Energy Systems and Nuclear Science)
University of Ontario Institute of Technology logo